It seems that every day here we get mistaken for Australians (or Swede’s…see previous posts). Getting mistaken for an Aussie isn’t really a bad thing, because I associate all good things with the nation down under…former British colony, fine weather, and good looking citizens! And being mistaken for one of them is surely much more complimentary than being taken for an American! But even after you tell them you are not from Australia, it doesn’t seem to matter, so I’ve just been going with it.

Typical cab ride in Singapore:
Driver: “So…whey you fra la?” (Translation: Where are you from?)
Me: “Canada…Toronto”
Driver: “OOOH Canada…big place yah. Cold! Haha!”
Me: “Yah, pretty cold there this time of year”
Driver: “You know, our Prime Minister has been to Australia many times”
Me: “Oh really?”
Driver: “Yes, many, many times”
Me: “Nice”
Driver: “Yes, nice”
Me: Silence
Driver: “Australia has great golfing”
Me: “Nice”
Driver: “Yes, nice”
Me: Silence

And often by this point I have arrived at my destination and can extricate myself from the rapidly deteriorating conversation. It simply puzzles me every time it happens. I can’t figure out if it is the nearest frame of reference for Caucasian habitation, or if they are unsure about Canada. Maybe it sounds like Canberra???? That thought just occurred to me…OMG. I might have just figured this mystery out!!!

