Chinese New Year is the biggest holiday in the Chinese calendar, as well as the time of year that provides people with the most time off. It is traditionally a time to reunite with family, and share wishes for prosperity in the coming year. Red and gold are everywhere. On New Year’s eve I went down to the park to take in the lights and fireworks. – And though the picture doesn’t do it justice, it was really amazing.

A few days later I was invited to spend a traditional New Year celebration with a Chinese family here in Singapore. As it turns out, a former Laurier student and friend-of-a-friend is a native of Singapore, and upon hearing of my arrival in the country, immediately invited me over to her grandma’s to celebrate the New Year! It was a really great time, and I learned a lot. The family was so kind and generous and welcoming, it was an experience I will remember forever. And the food was so good I was full for days!

