So in my spare time here I decided to take a cooking class! I signed up for a Singaporean class at a well known local culinary school. The class started off with a tour of the spice garden guided by Thai Chef “A”. He explained the uses for herbs and spices both in food as well as in natural remedies. Growing up in a small village in Thailand Chef A explained that the people rely on the properties of herbs and spices to both nourish and heal. One remedy I will likely not use is to place an onion on my pillow if I get a stuffy nose.

What was really interesting about the spice tour was seeing the natural environments of the common spices we use. Sure we’ve bought cinnamon, ginger, pepper and vanilla…but rarely do we see how these things grow and where they come from! Neat-o!

On the menu for today was a traditional Singaporean Spice Paste, Chicken Satay, Fried Beancurd Sheet Roll, Char Kway Teow (Fried Noodles in Dark Soy Sauce), Black Pepper Prawns and Palm Sugar-stuffed Glutinous Balls for dessert!

And voila!

